Coverart for item
The Resource The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success, Megan McArdle

The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success, Megan McArdle

Label
The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success
Title
The up side of down
Title remainder
why failing well is the key to success
Statement of responsibility
Megan McArdle
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
  • "For readers of Drive, Outliers, and Daring Greatly, a counterintuitive, paradigm-shifting new take on what makes people and companies succeed Most new products fail. So do most small businesses. And most of us, if we are honest, have experienced a major setback in our personal or professional lives. So what determines who will bounce back and follow up with a home run? If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure. McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the world's top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down? Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success. The Up Side of Down marks the emergence of an author with her thumb on the pulse whose book just might change the way you lead your life"--
  • "If you want to succeed in business and in life, Megan McArdle argues in this hugely thought-provoking book, you have to learn how to harness the power of failure. McArdle has been one of our most popular business bloggers for more than a decade, covering the rise and fall of some the world's top companies and challenging us to think differently about how we live, learn, and work. Drawing on cutting-edge research in science, psychology, economics, and business, and taking insights from turnaround experts, emergency room doctors, venture capitalists, child psychologists, bankruptcy judges, and mountaineers, McArdle argues that America is unique in its willingness to let people and companies fail, but also in its determination to let them pick up after the fall. Failure is how people and businesses learn. So how do you reinvent yourself when you are down? Dynamic and punchy, McArdle teaches us how to recognize mistakes early to channel setbacks into future success"--
Assigning source
  • Provided by publisher
  • Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
650.1
Index
index present
LC call number
HF5386
LC item number
.M47257 2014
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
Label
The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success, Megan McArdle
Link
ftp://ppftpuser:welcome@ftp01.penguingroup.com/BooksellersandMedia/Covers/2008_2009_New_Covers/9780670026142.jpg
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 273-290) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn852221383
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xiv, 299 pages
Isbn
9780670026142
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2013036820
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)852221383
Label
The up side of down : why failing well is the key to success, Megan McArdle
Link
ftp://ppftpuser:welcome@ftp01.penguingroup.com/BooksellersandMedia/Covers/2008_2009_New_Covers/9780670026142.jpg
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 273-290) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
ocn852221383
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
xiv, 299 pages
Isbn
9780670026142
Isbn Type
(hardback)
Lccn
2013036820
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
System control number
(OCoLC)852221383

Library Locations

    • Farmington Public LibraryBorrow it
      2101 Farmington Avenue, Farmington, NM, 87401, US
      36.7496343 -108.1809457
Processing Feedback ...