Coverart for item
The Resource Banished : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church, Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer

Banished : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church, Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer

Label
Banished : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church
Title
Banished
Title remainder
surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church
Statement of responsibility
Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer
Title variation
Banished : a memoir : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church
Creator
Contributor
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "In the tradition of Escape and Stolen innocence, the first look behind the curtains of the Westboro Baptist Church, by a young woman cast out from its clutches"--Provided by the publisher
  • Lauren Drain's childhood seemed average American, but when her liberal-minded father set out to film a documentary about the audacious and cultish hate group, the Westboro Baptist Church, he found himself seduced. At 14, Lauren was moved with her family to Kansas to live in the Westboro compound. There, Lauren found a new community offering both a warm welcome and a complex set of rules and regulations, including curbs on her teenage freedom and punishments meted out unjustly. The WBC's modus operandi is its aggressive and vitriolic campaigns against anyone and everyone it deems immoral or sinful--the U.S. military, the Catholic Church, homosexuals, and more. Over the next seven years, Lauren would try to assimilate their extreme beliefs. She traveled the country as an active and vocal picketer, spouting the church's message of hate at public events, with shockingly offensive signs promoting their agenda. But as she matured and began to question and bristle against some of the church's tenets, she was unceremoniously cast out, and permanently cut off from her family. BANISHED is the story of one young woman's journey into and out of a world of extremists, and of building a positive new life out of the ashes of her old one.--From publisher description
Biography type
autobiography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Drain, Lauren
Dewey number
  • 286/.5
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
BX6495.D725
LC item number
A3 2013
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Pulitzer, Lisa
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Drain, Lauren
  • Baptists
  • Westboro Baptist Church (Topeka, Kan.)
  • Westboro Baptist Church (Topeka, Kan.)
  • United States
  • Demonstrations
Label
Banished : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church, Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer
Instantiates
Publication
Note
"A memoir"--Jacket
Control code
ocn806014892
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
295 p.
Isbn
9781455512423
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2012041784
Other physical details
ill.
System control number
(OCoLC)806014892
Label
Banished : surviving my years in the Westboro Baptist Church, Lauren Drain with Lisa Pulitzer
Publication
Note
"A memoir"--Jacket
Control code
ocn806014892
Dimensions
24 cm.
Edition
1st ed.
Extent
295 p.
Isbn
9781455512423
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Lccn
2012041784
Other physical details
ill.
System control number
(OCoLC)806014892

Library Locations

    • Farmington Public LibraryBorrow it
      2101 Farmington Avenue, Farmington, NM, 87401, US
      36.7496343 -108.1809457
Processing Feedback ...